AWRN is a group of scholars and experts interested in WTO international economic law or policy from jurisdictions in Asia and Pacific regions. The AWRN’s membership is on invitation-basis and based on the individual’s academic and/or practical performance. There is currently the rule of three-member per jurisdiction. But there are some exceptions to this rule.

Currently, the AWRN covers 14 jurisdictions, including Australia, China, Hong Kong (China), India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, and Thailand members, their affiliations and the jurisdictions they come from are shown in the following table.

1. Australia

  1. Andrew Mitchell

    Professor, Melbourne Law School

  2. Colin Picker

    Pro Vice Chancellor (South Western Sydney), Dean,School of Law, Faculty of Law, Humanities and Arts, University of Wollongong

  3. Heng Wang

    Professor, University of New South Wales

  4. Lisa Toohey

    Professor, Newcastle Law School Australia

  5. Rajesh Sharma

    Senior Lecturer, Legal and Dispute Studies, Criminology and Justice, RMIT University, Melbourne, Austalia, Adjunct Professor at Academy of International Dispute Resolution and Professional Negotiation (AIDRN), Honorary Professor, Xiangtan University Law School

2. China

  1. Tu Xinquan

    Professor, Dean, China Institute for WTO Studies, University of International Business and Economics

  2. Gu Minkang

    Dean and Professor of Credit Risk Management School, Xiangtan University, Hunan, China

  3. Wang Guiguo

    President of Academy of International Strategy and Law and University Professor of Law, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China; President of the International Academy of the Belt and Road (HK,China).

3. Hong Kong

  1. Chin Leng Lim

    Choh-Ming Li Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, the Chinese University of Hong Kong

  2. Bryan Mercurio

    Simon F.S. Li Professor of Law, Faculty of Law, Chinese University of Hong Kong

  3. Julien Chaisse

    Professor, School of Law City Univerisity of Hong Kong

  4. Fernando Dias Simões

    Associate Professor, Lusíada University and Portucalense University (Porto, Portugal)

4. India

  1. Rajesh Babu

    Professor of Law, Indian Institute of Management Calcutta

  2. R.V. Anuradha

    Partner, Clarus Law Associates

  3. Debashis Cakraborty

    Associate Professor of Economics at the Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT), Kolkata

  4. Shailja Singh

    Legal Consultant (Associate Professor), Centre for WTO Studies, Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, New Delhi

5. Indonesia

  1. Joseph Wira Koesnaidi

    Founding partner, JWK Law Office

  2. Riza Noer Arfani

    Director, Center for World Trade Studies, Universitas Gadjah Mada Program Coordinator, Globalization and Local Development, Institute of International Studies, Department of International Relations

  3. Michelle Limenta

    Director, Center for International Trade and Investment, Universitas Pelita Harapan

  4. Yetty Komalasari Dewi

    Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, Universitas Indonesia. Head of the Department of Law in Economic Activities and Technology, Faculty of Law, Universitas Indonesia. Head of the Legal Center for International Trade and Investment (LCITI), Faculty of Law, Universitas Indonesia. (Short version) Associate Professor, Head, Department of Law in Economic Activities and Technology, Head, Legal Center for International Trade and Investment (LCITI), Faculty of Law, Universitas Indonesia (UI)

6. Japan

  1. Mitsuo Matsushita

    Professor Emeritus of Tokyo University and former member of the WTO Appellate Body, AWRN Senior Advisor

  2. Takashi Iwamoto

    AWRN Senior Advisor

  3. Junji Nakagawa

    Professor, Faculty of Liberal Arts, Chuo Gakuin University; AWRN Chair

  4. Tomohiko Kobayashi

    Professor, Department of Law/Director, International Relations Office, Otaru University of Commerce

  5. Yuka Fukunaga

    Professor, Faculty of Social Sciences, Waseda University

7. Korea

  1. Seung Wha Chang

    Professor (Immediate Former Dean), Seoul National University School of Law Chairman, Korea Trade Commission Chairman, Board of Directors, POSCO

  2. Dukgeun Ahn

    Professor of International Trade Law and Policy, Graduate School of International Studies, Seoul National University

  3. Jaemin Lee

    Professor of Law, School of Law, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea

8. Malaysia

  1. Datuk M. Supperamaniam

    Distinguished Fellow, Institute of Strategic and International Studies. Adjunct Professor, International Islamic University Malaysia.

  2. Rokiah Alavi

    Professor, Department of Economics, Kulliyyah of Economics and Managment Sciences, International Islamic University Malaysia

  3. Haniff Ahamat

    Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, The National University of Malaysia

9. New Zealand

  1. Meredith Kolsky Lewis

    Professor and Vice Dean, University at Buffalo School of Law, The State University of New York

10. Pakistan

  1. Arshad Ghaffar

    Barrister, XXIV Old Buildings

11. Philippines

  1. Ma. Joy V. Abrenica

12. Singapore

  1. Margaret Liang

    Adjunct Senior Fellow, Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Senior Fellow, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Diplomatic Academy

  2. Deborah K. Elms

    Executive Director of the Asian Trade Centre

  3. Henry Gao

    Associate Professor, School of Law, Singapore Management University

13. Taiwan

  1. Chang-fa Lo

    Ambassador and Permanent Representative for the Permanent Mission of the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu to the WTO, AWRN Senior Advisor

  2. Tsai-yu Lin

    Professor, College of Law, National Taiwan University; Director, Asian Center for WTO & Int’l Law and Policy of NTU, AWRN Senior Advisor

  3. Shin-yi Peng

    Distinguished Professor of Law, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan

  4. Tsai-fang Chen

    Associate Professor and Director, Institute of Technology Law, School of Law, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan

  5. Yueh-Ping (Alex) Yang

    Associate Professor, National Taiwan University College of Law

14. Thailand

  1. Lawan Thanadsillapakul

    Professor, Faculty of Law, Khon Kaen University

  2. Kittibodee Yaipool

    Dean of the Faculty of Law,Khon Kaen University

Andrew Mitchell


Colin Picker


Heng Wang


Lisa Toohey


Rajesh Sharma


Tu Xinquan


Gu Minkang


Wang Guiguo


Chin Leng Lim

Hong Kong

Bryan Mercurio

Hong Kong

Julien Chaisse

Hong Kong

Fernando Dias Simões

Hong Kong

Rajesh Babu


R.V. Anuradha


Debashis Cakraborty


Shailja Singh


Joseph Wira Koesnaidi


Riza Noer Arfani


Michelle Limenta


Yetty Komalasari Dewi


Mitsuo Matsushita


Takashi Iwamoto


Junji Nakagawa


Tomohiko Kobayashi


Yuka Fukunaga


Seung Wha Chang


Dukgeun Ahn


Jaemin Lee


Datuk M. Supperamaniam


Rokiah Alavi


Haniff Ahamat


Meredith Kolsky Lewis

New Zealand

Arshad Ghaffar


Ma. Joy V. Abrenica


Margaret Liang


Deborah K. Elms


Henry Gao


Chang-fa Lo


Tsai-yu Lin


Shin-yi Peng


Tsai-fang Chen


Yueh-Ping (Alex) Yang


Lawan Thanadsillapakul


Kittibodee Yaipool